Blog

What Does Weapon Offense Mean?

Gavel and Hammer Used When Deciding on Weapon Charges

Concealed Weapon Charges in Kansas

If you live in Kansas, then you are aware that we have an open carry system. Anyone 18 or older is legally allowed to carry a weapon without a state-issued permit. The same is true for purchase, except you must be 21 or older. Which means you can’t be arrested for possessing a firearm without a license. You can, however, be charged and convicted for possession of a firearm if you are caught under the influence of alcohol. Or if you have previously been convicted of a felony. When that happens, you can very easily find yourself in jail needing help. That is when you need to rely on Owen's Bonding Co.. We can help post your bail for weapon charges in , KS. Call __PHONE__ to learn more.

Possession of a Prohibited Weapon Could Result in Weapon Charges

Weapon Charges Definition

A weapon charge, in the state of Kansas, is defined as possession of a deadly weapon that could threaten public safety. This could be a firearm, knife, bludgeon, or anything poses a threat to the safety of others. Now, in Kansas, anyone 18 or older is legally allowed to carry a weapon, concealed or not. You cannot be charged for carrying a weapon in Kansas without a permit, because Kansas allows residents to carry without them. You cannot leave the state without a permit, but you are not required to have one. Many can often find themselves arrested and charged because of previous arrest warrants. Having a reliable bail bonds company to provide arrest warrants help can be critical to getting back in your home.

That in mind, if you are charged or convicted with a weapon charge, you more than likely have a lot of questions. The one that almost everyone wants to know is, “Can deadly weapon charges be dropped?” Honestly, that is a complicated question with a complicated answer. Deadly weapon charges can be classified as some of the highest convictions in the state. This comes with several months in jail, probation, and up to $100,000 in fines. If your attorney can prove that deadly weapon was not present during an assault or during your arrest, there is a possibility of the charges being dropped, but that evidence needs to be definite. 

Types of Weapon Charges

In the state of Kansas, you are allowed to carry a firearm or weapon at the age of 18. You have to be 21 to purchase, but you do not need a license or permit to carry. That being said, you can still be charged with a weapons charge if you are caught under the influence or with a prohibited weapon. If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged, call Owen's Bonding Co. for help with bail bond services.

  • Carrying a Weapon While Under the Influence: If you are charged and convicted with carrying a weapon, concealed or open, while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any other substance, that is considered a class A misdemeanor. These charges come with jail time, possibly, up to a year and a fine of $2,500. 
  • Being a Felon and Possessing a Firearm: Do not be a felony possessing a firearm in Kansas. If you are caught, that is classified as a severity 8, nonperson felony. With it comes county jail time up to 23 months and 18 months’ probation. On top of that, a $100,000 fine. 
  • Possession of a Prohibited Weapon: Owning or possessing a prohibited weapon could be classified as at a severity 9, nonperson felony. With this charge, you could face 17 months in jail, possible probation and/or a fine up to $100,000. You could also very well be charged with a class 1, nonperson misdemeanor. The severity of the conviction will be dependant on your criminal history, the weapon in your possession, and more.

These and other weapon charges that can find you in jail needing bail. When that happens, contact Owen's Bonding Co.. We can help get you back on your feet so you can defend yourself and be better prepared for possible conviction charges.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is carrying a concealed weapon a felony or a misdemeanor?
    • In Kansas, carrying a firearm is permitted even without a state issued license so long as you are over the age of 18. You do have to be 21 to purchase a firearm, but you are allowed to carry at 18. You will face felony or misdemeanor charges if you are intoxicated while carrying, even with a permit.
  • Is possession of a firearm a felony or a misdemeanor?
    • In the state of Kansas, anyone 21 or over can legally purchase a firearm. You do not have to have a permit to carry a concealed or open weapon. Felony or misdemeanor charges apply to those that are under the influence of something while carrying or carrying a weapon when they have previously been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor.
  • What is unlawful possession of a weapon?
    • Unlawful possession of a weapon would be owning or carrying a weapon without a state issued license. Since you don’t need a license in Kansas, this applies to those who have previously been convicted of a felony. Or those that own prohibited weapons like throwing stars and bludgeons. 
  • What is criminal use of prohibited weapon?
    • Prohibited weapons are things like machine guns, brass knuckles, throwing stars, bludgeons, and more. Criminal use of these weapons would be possessing them and using them to harm others or to threaten public safety. 
  • What is the penalty for having an unregistered gun?
    • Kansas has the right to carry throughout the state, so you cannot be charged with a felony or misdemeanor for carrying a concealed or open firearm if you are over the age of 18. You will be facing a penalty if you have a firearm and are under the influence of a narcotic or alcohol. 
Judge Issuing Weapon Charges in Court

Connect With Owen's Bonding Co. For Help Today

Rely on Owen's Bonding Co. for bail if you are facing weapon charges in , KS. Call 866-830-2663 to get started. 

Can You Get Bail On a Felony Charge?

Man is Escorted Away on Domestic Violence Charges

Understanding Felony Bonds

When someone faces an felony criminal charge, it can be a frightening situation. Many people, especially first-time offenders, aren’t familiar with the legal process. As a result, they run into the subject of felony bail bonds and other legal challenges without knowing how to react.

Today, we’re going to dig into bail and other crucial topics related to felony charges. By the end, you should have a solid starting point from which to plan your reaction. Make sure you (or your charged loved one) have a trustworthy criminal defense attorney to coordinate your case!

Felony Bail Bonds – Key Facts

Felonies, in general, come with more narrowed guidelines regarding bail amounts, convictions, and potential penalties. With that being said, there is still plenty of varying factors that affect each individual case. Two individuals charged with the same felony crime may experience very different bail outcomes depending on their character, criminal history, employment, and overseeing judge.

Bail Pricing

How Much is a Bail Bond for a Felony?

Felony bail amount hinges on a variety of factors. Most common felonies have a predetermined price based on the applicable county’s automatic bail schedule. While judges still maintain the ability to change the price of bail at their discretion, most will not stray too far from the established amount.

In some Kansas counties, low-grade felonies have a predetermined price of $1500. These crimes may include felony theft, felony criminal damage to property, and felony possession of stolen property. You can talk with your personal defense attorney to learn more about your area’s bail schedule.

If you purchase a bond from a local bonding agency, you can expect to pay a small percentage of the total bail price (often 10 to 15%). Though this amount is non-refundable, it’s usually a small price to pay for staying out of pre-trial lockup and continuing employment with interruption.

Bail Denial

Felony No Bail

There are certain crimes where bail may be denied. These include violent crimes, such as murder (typically grounds for automatic denial), aggravated assault and battery, and aggravated domestic violence. A judge will frequently deny bail for individuals they believe poses a credible threat to the safety of the public.

Bail Violations

Felony Bail Conditions and Violations

Because felony crimes have a heavier weight in the court of law, many judges create a strict list of mandatory bail conditions that must be carried out to avoid pre-trial lockup. These may include staying away from illicit drugs, refraining from interacting with certain individuals, meeting with a counselor, not possessing a lethal weapon, and other crime-related activities. Failure to obey these conditions could lead to heavy penalties, including a charge of felony bail jumping.

What is Felony Bail Jumping?

When a person is accused of a felony and provided with bail conditions, disobeying those conditions may result in a felony bail jumping charge. Even if that person is cleared of their original felony charge, they still face a felony charge for breaking their terms of bail. Individuals charged with jumping may also forfeit the privilege of remaining out of pretrial lockup and be forced to pay the full price of their felony bail bonds.

As as side note: if you believe that you may have a warrant for failing to appear in court, make sure you find a arrest warrants help service to resolve the issue.

Additional Questions Regarding Felonies

Dropping Charges

Can Felony Charges Be Dropped?

There is often confusion between the terms dropped and dismissed. If an arresting officer or case prosecutor decide they have insufficient evidence to prove their case, they may choose to drop charges before or after they have been filed. After charges have been filed, the case prosecutor or the judge may dismiss them (again, due to insufficient evidence).

Probation

Can You Just Get Probation for a Felony?

Probation is an outcome that criminal attorneys often pursue when their defendant is a first-time offender. This allows the convicted individual to remain free, assuming they fulfill the requirements laid out for them. It’s left to the discretion of the judge involved in the case. For higher-tier felonies, probation is fairly unlikely. However, judges may offer probation for low ranking felonies.

Record Expunging

How Do You Get a Felony Removed From Your Record?

If an individual’s crime is eligible, many courts will allow citizens to expunge (erase) an incident from their criminal record. This can be done through the following steps…

  • Consult with a trusted defense attorney.
  • Make sure sufficient time has passed since your conviction.
  • Collect applicable arrest, police, and court records.
  • Fill out the appropriate forms for expungement.
  • Submit the forms and pay any related fees.
  • Attend court hearing (if required).

What Felonies Cannot Be Expunged?

Not all crimes may be removed from the record. Many of the exceptions are violent crimes, which remain as a warning for the public.

A Teen Has Been Handcuffed and Placed on the Ground

Need Professional Assistance?

Looking for local bail bond services to help you avoid pretrial lockup? Our team at Owen's Bonding Co. would love to help you get through this stressful time! Contact our friendly team at 866-830-2663 to learn more about felony bail bonds in , KS.

What is considered a probation violation?

What happens when you violate probation for the first time?

arrest

After you commit a crime, if allowed, you can be sentenced to what is known as probation. There are strict guidelines that you have to abide by in order to not violate your probation terms. Upon violation of your probation for the first time, you will be required to attend a probation hearing. After that the judge will decide if they want to give you another chance and extend your probation or they can outright remove probation terms altogether and sentence you to do some time. Probation terms can also be restructured but of course this is all according to how the judge seems fit and the circumstances behind your violation. Having a strong legal representative can help in the deciding factor for the outcome of your fate as well. Information on topics such as this for , KS can be reached at 866-830-2663.


Can you beat a probation violation?

Beating a probation violation results ultimately on the severity of the crime, the circumstances of the violation and if you have a great public defender to support these claims. Other important factors can include failing a drug and/or alcohol test and not actively reporting to your probation officer as scheduled.  Also be mindful that you can be reported at any time if someone feels you violated your probation in which can end up serving jail time. Once a violation is suspected, the reporting person whether it be a regular citizen or an overseeing official, will contact the police and file a police report in the city and county the violation occurred.  At that point, if the probation violation is considered a misdemeanor, then that can depend on the state that you serve your probation and the judge handling your case. Many times it can just be a minor violation.

How much jail time do you get for violating probation?

judge and gavel

You can receive jail time for violating your probation in number of ways. You can violate by refusing or failing your drug and/or alcohol test. Failure to show up to your scheduled visit with your probation officer in which then the probation officer can submit a violation request and the courts can either issue out a warrant for your arrest or order you to make a courtroom appearance. While making an appearance in court there are certain rules that you need to abide by in the form of court etiquette. You can also receive jail time for committing an act that is considered a violation which varies from state to state. This new crime that you committed that has violated your probation can determine how the rest of your probation is settled since this is now  a whole new charge. You may not be able to bail out of jail which will be discussed later on in the post in further detail.


 Can a probation violation be dismissed?

After a violation has been made and you are ordered to appear in court, there is a waiting period before you actually make an appearance. This waited time is up to the discretion of which jurisdiction you will be appearing at. A motion to speed this process up for appearance can be made and once you have your hearing, there is a possibility that the probation violation can be thrown out or dismissed from court.  This depends on if the State agrees to dismiss the charges brought before you and the judge and depending on what type of plea deal you bargain. In the event that the probation violation is not dismissed, the judge can sentence you to serve jail time up and to the maximum sentence allowed. Depending on if you served prior jail time before being ordered to be put on probation, you can possibly serve only the remaining time left on your original sentence.

Can you bail out of jail on a probation violation?

So you have committed a probation violation and is now wondering if there is a possibility that you can bail yourself out of jail. Well, in short yes and no. In the likely-hood you have been arrested for a violation of your probation and charged with a new felony, you can bond yourself out of jail for that new charge. However a warrant for your arrest can be issued for your probation violation and you will not be able to bond out of the original charges that are brought against you. As stated earlier, depending on how much time was served if at all can determine how much of the sentencing a judge can order you to serve. If you have any further questions, call us at 866-830-2663 for more information on probation violations and more in , KS.

How Do You Find a Good Lawyer To Represent You?

A Young Lawyer Sitting at a Desk with Lady Justice in Front of Her

There Are Several Ways To Find a Good Attorney.

If you are in a situation where you need the help of an attorney, you will want to make sure that you hire one that is able to help you. If you don’t already have an attorney, you are probably wondering, “how can I find an attorney?” Luckily, there are many ways that you are able to find an attorney that is going to help you win your case and get you back on your feet. In this blog post, we will discuss how to choose an attorney, how you can find an attorney, and how you are able to check to see if they have a solid reputation.

How Do I Choose the Right Lawyer?

Before we delve into how to choose the best attorney, it is important to make a distinction. A lot of people ask, “Is an attorney and a lawyer the same thing?” and the answer is no. While they both went to law school, an attorney is someone who passed the bar and is practicing law; a lawyer is someone who went to law school and has had the proper training but does not practice law. If you are having problems with the law and need legal representation, you would call an attorney for help. However, while there is a distinction between the two when you use a lawyer to refer to someone trying your case, it’s okay as many people don’t realize that there is a difference.

If you are needing the assistance of a lawyer, you will want to find the best one that you can afford. But how do you find the right lawyer? There are a couple of ways in which you can find a lawyer that will be best suited for your specific circumstances and case.

  • Online: You can find an attorney online easily when you use the right keywords. If you are looking for an attorney in Kansas, you just type “attorney in Kansas” into the Google search bar and a list of law firms and lawyers will pop up.
  • Lawyer Directory: Another way to find a professional lawyer is by looking it up in an attorney finder online. FindLaw is just one of the hundreds of lawyer directories that you can find online. These directories are great because they give you the vital information you need about a specific lawyer.
  • Personal Referrals: We go to our friends and families for advice on other issues, why not get their opinion on a lawyer you should hire? More often than not, someone you know has needed the assistance of a good lawyer, so ask around and you might find the lawyer that you’ve been desperately needing.
  • Referral Services: If you really want to find a good lawyer based on cost, reputation, and other qualities, you can always ask for assistance from a referral company that specifically works to find lawyers for potential clients.

Once you have found a couple of lawyers that you think would be perfect for your case, the next step is to interview them. You will want to work with a lawyer who obviously wants to work with you, but that you have a good connection with and someone who is always there to talk with you and can give you answers quickly. The process of finding a lawyer can be overwhelming, but once you find the perfect one, it will be worth all of the research.

How Can I Find a Lawyer To Help Me?

A lot of times people have a hard time finding a lawyer because as they put it, they “Can’t find an attorney to take my case.” This actually happens a lot to people who are trying to find a respectable lawyer to help them with their case. There are a lot of reasons why a lawyer might not be inclined to take your case.

  • One of the most common reasons that a lawyer will turn down your case is because of money. Lawyers work to win your case, so they have fees that need to be paid. If they think that your case won’t be worth that much, they might politely decline.
  • Another reason that they might turn you down is because it would be a conflict of interest. Ethically, they will not represent someone who’s private interests are considered a conflict of interest.
  • If a lawyer reviews your case and doesn’t think there is enough evidence or the case just isn’t strong, they can decline representing you.
  • They have met with you and their is a personality clash. If a lawyer does not think you would work well together, they will not take your case to court.

A Picture of a Woman and Two Men, with the Two Men Shaking Hands

Learn How You Can Find Out About an Attorney’s Reputation.

The best thing to do is to keep trying to find a lawyer. There is bound to be a lawyer out there who is willing to work with you and help you win your case.

How Do I Check a Lawyer’s Reputation?

While a lawyer might sound great on paper, it is still so important to find out the reputation of the lawyer you want to hire. This is to make sure that you are working with an ethical person, as well as see if they have won cases, been good to their clients, and know how attorney client privilege works. One of the first things you can do is look up your potential attorney on a lawyer review website. You can read reviews on the lawyer and see if they have any negative ones. The next thing you can do is run a background check on the lawyer. This will give you all of the information you need to make an educated decision on whether they are the right person to hire. Another thing you can do is check you state’s bar association to see if there is any information that might change your opinion about the lawyer.

Whether you are needing a bail bond company in California or someone who knows a lot about bail bonds, you need to get in touch with a professional who has been in the business for awhile. If you are needing bail bonds in Kansas and don’t know where to turn, call Owen's Bonding Co. at 866-830-2663 for help.

How Jail Works

When you or someone you love is arrested, it can be a very stressful and worrisome time with many questions left unanswered. Questions like, “how long does it take to get booked in jail?” and “how many years can you be in jail” suddenly become very important inquiries that never seemed to matter before. When you or your loved one has been arrested the most important thing to do is stay calm and contact the correct authorities for assistance, such as a reputable bondsman and an experienced attorney. These professionals can provide you with jail and arrest information by performing a jail and inmate search. They can also provide you with charge and bonding information once the arrested party is processed.

Lights on a Police Car

Going to Jail is Never a Good Experience. We Can Help Get You Out And Back With Your Loved Ones.

Why do You Go to Jail?

There are many reasons why someone may get arrested. Most commonly, the arrested party is caught in the act of wrongdoing. However, sometimes, they may be arrested for a bench or capias warrant specifically by the judge. Whether your charge is a felony, misdemeanor, or bench warrant, you will be arrested the same way and brought to an incarceration facility.

  • Felony Arrest: If you are arrested for a felony charge, you will most likely have to stay in jail until you see the judge about a bond agreement. Most times, felonies are judged on a case by case basis and include considerations concerning the severity and frequency of the crime.
  • Misdemeanor Arrest: In many cases, misdemeanor charges have preset bonds. This means that when you are finished with the booking process, your bond can be posted for release. There are, however, exceptions, and charges like repeat DUI offenses and violent charges will usually have to be decided by the judge.
  • Bench Warrants: Bench warrants are issued when you fail to appear for a court day or other official meeting set by a judge. These warrants can typically be bonded easily after processing.
  • Capias Warrants: These warrants are issued for parties that have already set up an agreement with the court but failed to hold up their end of the deal. Unfortunately, these warrants can never be bonded and will need to be paid and cleared before release will be allowed.

The Processing Process

No matter what the reason, the arrested party will go through the same processing procedure before they can be bonded out. Processing can take anywhere from a couple of hours to a whole day, depending on how busy the facility is. Processing the inmate includes taking fingerprints and mugshots, changing into uniform, and being given the chance to call a concerned party. Once the booking process is complete, either a bond will be set or a bond case is set to go before the judge.

Will I go to Jail for First Felony Charges?

In many cases, judges are more lenient with first-time charges than with repeat offenders. However, that is not always the case, and judges are not required to grant leniency. In some cases, especially in violent crimes, first-time offenders are not typically granted leniency and will most likely spend time behind bars.

How Can I Find Out if Someone is in Police Custody?

Once a person has been booked into the legal system, they are traceable by any authorized party. Some cities and counties have inmate search websites where you can check to see if someone is in custody. Other areas require a phone call to inquire of someone’s incarceration. In areas such as metropolitans and other high crowding places, a professional such as a bail bondsman can help get the information needed.

How Can I Find Out What Jail Someone is In?

In many cases, inmates are shuffled through the justice system, serving time in multiple areas for different infractions. Once time has been served in one area, the inmate will be transported to another area if charges exist. This can make it very difficult finding the correct jail to bond someone out. In most cases, the arresting department can tell you where the inmate was transported. This step will need to be repeated for each transfer until the inmate is located. Once you locate your loved one, the detaining facility should be able to tell you if there are anymore pending charges for other areas to prevent another transport.

Jail vs. Prison

While jail and prison may seem interchangeable, they are actually quite different. Jail typically refers to a county or city facility that is used for holding, misdemeanor, and short-term felony sentences.

Small Jail Cell

County and City Jails are Typically for Minor Crime and Sentencing Carry-Out.

These facilities are minimum security and are controlled by the city or county court system. Prison, on the other hand, is typically medium or maximum security and is used for long-term serious offense sentencing. Many times, prison inmates are violent parties or repeat offenders that have more than 5 years of jail time to serve.

No matter what type of charges you or your loved one is facing, it can be a very uncertain and uneasy time. Let the Owen's Bonding Co. team put your mind at ease by offering professional bonding and procedure advice to help the process go as smoothly as possible. We can help you locate your loved one and get them bonded as soon as possible for a minimal stay behind bars. Once free, we help the arrested party be successful in their bond by explaining the process in detail and providing the guidance and communication needed to keep all interested parties in the loop. When someone you love has been served an arrest warrant in , KS area, call the Owen's Bonding Co. professionals first at 866-830-2663 to provide the help you need to get your loved one out quick.

What Are Arrest Warrants?

police handcuffing man

For Arrest Warrant Clearance Bail Help, Call Us Today

Sometimes people don’t know, forget, or don’t want to show up to court after having been arrested or getting a ticket. If you fail to show up to court, a warrant is sent our for your arrest and you are considered a fugitive of the law until you are captured. By receiving an arrest warrant, you add additional bail, court fees, and bail bondsman fees to your list of debts instead of having just shown up to court in the first place. If you skip out on showing up to court, an arrest warrant will be placed for you and you will have to pay an arrest warrant clearance bond to get rid of it. If a judge still deems you a flight risk, you could be placed on house arrest monitoring. If you have been issued an arrest warrant and need arrest warrant clearance bail in Wichita, KS, call Owen's Bonding Co. at (866) 830-BOND today.

How Does Someone Get An Arrest Warrant?

  • A lot of times, people who have accumulated tons of unpaid traffic tickets will get a warrant out for their arrest that they claim they don’t know about.
  • Not showing up to court after posting your bail from jail places a warrant out for your arrest and causes you to lose your refunded bail money.
  • People who are guilty and decide to flee instead of showing up to the appointed court dates get arrest warrants so they can be forcibly brought back to court and sentenced.
  • Bounty hunters use arrest warrants to collect bond money from the bail bondsman that the person on the run owes money to.

How Does a Bail Bond Work?

How Does a Bail Bond Work?

How Does Bail Work? Find Out More About the Bail Bond Process.

When we talk about posting bail or needing to use a bail bond, people can get confused about what that means exactly. What are bail and bails bonds and how does bail work? Bail is a set amount of money that is set by the judge. Bail is how you are able to get out of jail and acts as insurance to guarantee that you will show up for your court day. Bail can be expensive, which is why we have bail bonds. Bail bonds are a surety, or promise, to the court that you will appear on your assigned court date; if you miss your court date, your bail is forfeited. You are able to get bail from your family or friends, but it’s more common to get a bail bond through a certified bail bondsman. Felony and misdemeanor bonding are popular bail bonds if you or someone you love has committed a felony or misdemeanor. To find out more about how does bail work or the bail process, we have got you covered.

Bail Bond Process

  • Police Custody and Booking: The first step is being booked which means they will take down all of your personal information, get information on the crime, and hold you in jail until you know if you can be released.
  • Bail Proceedings: If it’s your first offense then they will sometimes let you off on your own recognizance, but most of the time they will set up bail proceedings to determine how the bail should be set. Bail is determined based on many factors that the judge will decide upon.
  • Posting Bail: Once the amount of your bail is set you can go about paying it. If you, your family, or friends can’t afford to pay for your bail, that is where a bail bondsman comes in. You usually have to pay a percentage of the bail amount, but the bail bonds company will take care of the rest so you can be released from jail.

If you are needing bail bond services in Wichita, KS, call Owen's Bonding Co. at 866-830-2663.

Bail Bond Vs. Recognizance

When we think of getting released from jail, we typically think that we can only be released when we’ve had bail posted. However, there are situations where you don’t necessarily need bail. This, of course, is based on a couple of factors.

  1. How severe the crime was
  2. How likely the person is as a flight risk.
  3. The criminal record of the defendant.
  4. If the defendant is a danger to the community.
  5. How likely it is that they will commit another crime.
  6. The ties that the defendant has to their family, job, and community.

Personal Recognizance Bail

Personal Recognizance Bail Is a Promise You Will Attend Your Assigned Court Date.

All of these things come into play when deciding if someone is eligible for a bail bond or for personal recognizance bail. Find out if you will need a bail bond or if personal recognizance bail in Wichita, KS by calling Owen's Bonding Co. now at 866-830-2663.

What Is a Personal Recognizance Bond?

Unlike a bail bond, personal recognizance doesn’t require money being paid or having a bond posted. Being released on your own recognizance, also known as OR, is a promise to the judge that you will appear in court on your assigned court date. Again, OR is based on the above factors, as well as the conditions the judge puts on your release. The only way is to get personal recognizance is if a judge grants it; you cannot get personal recognizance from the arresting officer, so you have to wait until you are before a judge to see if they will grant you personal recognizance.

If the person who gets OR violates their agreement and does not appear in court, they will be arrested immediately and sent to jail. This time around, they will not have the best options for bail. If you think personal recognizance bail in Wichita, KS is something your family or friend could be eligible for, give us a call to see!

Local Bail Bonds Assistance

If you were in a situation where you had personal recognizance bail in the Wichita, KS area but you were unable to go to court, call us for local bail bonds assistance! We have a wide range of bail bond services ranging from DUI bail, misdemeanor bail, and probation violation bail. Just give our bail bondsmen a call at 866-830-2663 today!

How To Avoid Getting A DUI

DUI

Avoid Having To Worry About DUIs While Drinking When You Follow Our Tips.

We all like to unwind now and then, whether it is hanging out with friends, family, or just cooling down from a hard day at work by yourself. Having a few drinks is not a bad way to relax, however, driving after those drinks can land you in a heap of trouble. DUIs are serious charges that can put your life on hold while you deal with the repercussions of drinking and then trying to navigate your car home. You can avoid having to worry about these charges if you take a little time and make a plan for your evening using the tips below.

DUI Avoidance Tips

  • For Group Events, Plan Ahead – If you and your friends or coworkers are planning a get together where there may be drinking, use the planning time to make sure it is safe for everyone. See about carpooling and setting a designated driver to ensure everyone arrives home safely.
  • Don’t Drive If You Are Drinking – Whether setting up a DD is not realistic or you are out on your own, remember there are other available options for your return home. Before heading out, have a taxi service in mind or set up a reservation at a hotel to give you a way to stay safe once you are done.
  • Let Friends And Family Know Where You Are – Last but not least, inform family or friends of your plans. Keep in mind if any of them can assist you by picking you up after the evening and call them for assistance when you are ready to head back home.

Sometimes, situations can spin out of control, Before you know it, you are dealing with a difficult legal situation. Are you facing DUI charges in Wichita, KS? Reach out to the bail bonds experts at Owen's Bonding Co. when you dial 866-830-2663 today!

What Is Probation and Probation Violation?

Probation Violation

Violating Your Probation Can Have Serious Consequences, Landing You Back In Jail.

When you have been charged with a crime, there is a possibility of you being convicted. One of the best outcomes you can receive if convicted is to receive probation. Probation allows you to carry out your sentence with minimal to no jail time, allowing you to have freedom while still handling your court-issued consequences. These may include restrictions on your life or even community service. Depending on your crime, the judge will issue you a list of rules to follow to be enforced by your probation officer. If you break any of these rules, you could find yourself facing a probation violation.

Possible Violations of Your Probation

While probation can be better than the alternative of being in jail, it does come with a specific set of rules one needs to follow in order to be successful. These rules are issued by the judge or court when probation is given. These rules can vary on a case by case basis. Some examples of possible violations, depending on your case, are:

  • Participating in a crime
  • Leaving the designated region you should be in
  • Using drugs or alcohol
  • Missing out on your probation officer meeting
  • Skipping court-mandated rehabilitation or service

With your first violation, you may be issued a warning, however, after this, you will most likely have to attend court. A judge will hear your case and decide whether you did indeed violate your probation. From there, you may be faced with anything from a fine to having probation rescinded.

Are you facing probation violation? Owen's Bonding Co. offers probation violation bail services for your needs in Wichita, KS. Give us a call today at 866-830-2663!